IMPH Welcomes New Board Leadership and Members

The South Carolina Institute of Medicine & Public Health is pleased to announce new executive officers and members of the Board of Directors. Ms. Pamela Lackey has been named Chair and Mr. Joel A. Smith III Vice-Chair. Ms. Lackey is President of AT&T South Carolina, and Mr. Joel Smith is Dean Emeritus, University of South Carolina Moore School of Business and President (retired) of Bank of America East.

New board members elected for the 2017-2019 term are Dr. Chanita Hughes-Halbert, Professor, Medical University of South Carolina; Ms. Inez M. Tenenbaum, Of Counsel, Wyche P.A., Former Chairman, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission and Former Superintendent of Education, State of South Carolina; and Dr. Windsor Westbrook Sherrill, Associate Vice President for Health Research, Clemson University and Chief Science Officer, Greenville Health System.

“I welcome Pam and Joel’s leadership for our board and look forward to working with all of our new and continuing members,” expressed IMPH executive director Kester Freeman. “The diversity of experience and perspectives of our board members is a tremendous asset to IMPH as we continue to increase our impact on health policy and outcomes in South Carolina.”

“I also wish to share the gratitude I and my staff have for the leadership and vision provided by our inaugural board chair, Dr. Fred Carter, as his term of service ends. We also thank Dr. Leroy Davis and Sen. Thomas Alexander for their service since 2011 as their terms end as well.” The Honorable Jim Hodges also finished his term as vice-chair, but is remaining on the board.

The other members of the Board of Directors are:

Mr. William Barnet, CEO, The Barnet Company
Dr. David J. Cole, President, Medical University of South Carolina
The Honorable Jim Hodges (immediate past Vice-Chair), Senior Advisor, McGuireWoods Consulting; Former Governor, State of South Carolina
The Honorable Joseph Neal, Member, South Carolina House of Representatives
Dr. Harris Pastides, President, University of South Carolina
Dr. Helga Rippen, Chief Medical Officer, Alertgy
Mr. Ed Sellers, Chairman, Board of Directors, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
Mr. Richard Wilkerson, Chairman and President (retired), Michelin North America
Dr. Gerald Wilson, Surgeon (retired), Midlands Surgical Associates

Connect with IMPH:

Join our mailing list

© 2015 South Carolina Institute of Medicine and Public Health